Provincial Assembly of Balochistan

Provincial Assembly of Balochistan

بلوچستان صوبائی اسمبلی


Session adjourned to meet again on Thursday, 23rd May, 2024, at 11:00AM.                  Debate(verbatim) of  Session held on 17th May, 2024.

Brief History

Brief History

The Provincial Assembly of Balochistan came into existence under a Presidential Order on 30th March, 1970, after dissolution of one unit and declaring Balochistan as a separate province. The first election of Balochistan Provincial Assembly was held on 17th December, 1970 with 21 members in its fold, comprising of 20 general seats and one reserved for women.

First session of the Balochistan Assembly comprising of 21 members was held on 2nd May, 1972 at the Historic Shahi Jirga Hall (Town Hall), Quetta. Mr. Muhammad Khan Barozai and Molvi Shams-ud-Din were elected as Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively. Sardar Attaullah Mengal served as the first House Leader and Mr. Ghous Bakhsh Raisani as the Leader of Opposition. Balochistan Provincial Assembly has witnessed Eleven (11) General Elections since then, growing in size to its present membership of 65 with the ratio of 51 General, 11 women and 3 minority seats.

The current 11th Assembly came into existence after General Election held on 25th July, 2018. The Assembly elected Mir Abdul Quddus Bizenjo and Sardar Babar Khan Musakhel as Speaker and Deputy Speaker, respectively. On 18th August, 2018 Mir Jam Kamal Khan Aaliyani was elected as leader of the House with 39 votes against Mir Younus Aziz Zehri who secured 18 votes. Malik Sikander Khan Advocate was unanimously elected as Leader of the Opposition.

The foundation of the present Assembly building was laid in 1973 by the then Governor Balochistan, Nawab Muhammad Akbar Khan Bugti. However, it was inaugurated on 28th April, 1987 by the then Prime Minister, Muhammad Khan Junejo. The Total area covered by the building is 12 acres.

The House has a seating capacity for 72 members. There are 25 guest seats available in the Governor / Speaker gallery while 25 seats are reserved for government officials in the official gallery. Visitor gallery has 168 seats for general public and 55 seats are reserved for Press / electronic media.

Since its inception, Balochistan Assembly has passed numerous Bills, resolutions etc. in the interest of public. All the business conducted tenure wise by Balochistan Provincial Assembly is tabulated below:-

AssemblyBills/ActsPrivilege MotionsAdjournment MotionsResolutionsQuestionsCall Attention Notice
2018-Till Date221912-G/43-P16122
PHP Code Snippets Powered By :
Scroll to Top